Wednesday, May 25, 2016

PNoy signs law creating new DICT

President Benigno Aquino III has signed on Monday into law the Republic Act 10844, creating the Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT).

According to Presidential Communications Operations Office (PCOO) Secretary Sonny Coloma, the DICT will be headed by a secretary who will be assisted by three undersecretaries and four assistant secretaries.

The two of the three Undersecretaries and the two of the four Assistant Secretaries need to be career officers while one of the four Assistant Secretaries shall be a licensed professional electronics engineer.

Coloma also said that law also requires that the Secretary, as well as the Undersecretaries and Assistant Secretaries, have “... at least seven (7) years of competence and expertise in any of the following: information and communications technology; information technology service management; information security management; cybersecurity, data privacy, e-Commerce, or human capital development in the ICT sector”.

Moreover, the new law effectively abolishes all operating units of the Department of Transportation and Communications (DOTC) with functions and responsibilities dealing with communications. These are the Information and Communications Technology Office (ICTO), National Computer Center (NCC), National Computer Institute (NCI), Telecommunications Office (TELOF), National Telecommunications Training Institute (NTTI).

Meanwhile, the DOTC will be renamed as the Department of Transportation.

Six-month transition is need for its effectivity and for its full implementation of the transfer of functions, assets and personnel. “... the existing personnel shall continue to assume their posts in holdover capacities until new appointments are issued,” the law stated. (PCOO/PIA)

No comments: